Thu 6 May 2021

Ateneo Blue Eagles show no mercy to UST Growling Tigers

[supsystic-social-sharing id="1"]

The Ateneo Blue Eagles pinned down the UST Growling Tigers in an incredible match today, November 4, 102-83 at the Smart-Araneta Coliseum.

Though the Growling Tigers are still winless at this point and officially has no chance to enter the final four, it is fact that they can give their opponent an epic fight even if it is against a powerhouse team.

Both teams started the first quarter intensively with the Ateneo knocking down shots as much as they can and UST with their tight defense, ending it with 26-20 in favor of the Blue Eagles.

The Espana Tigers took the lead in the middle of the second quarter but the Blue shirts made sure that the period will be dominated by them and led by Matt Nieto who garnered 12 points, they ended the half with a 10-point lead, 49-39.

As the second half commenced, the Katipunan-based squad barely kept their lead that was taken advantage by the Tigers closing it in to a 5-point gap, 75-70.

Just like every game, the Blue Eagles are taking one game at a time, keeping their feet on the ground and giving their all.

Thirdy Ravena stated that, “Coming into the game, di naman kami nagprepare for the future games kasi ang pinaka important na game is yung game kanina and we cannot be complacent just because dun sa standing namin and we know coming into the game, tulad ng sinabi ni Coach Sandy na, UST is going to give their all no matter what happens.”

On the other hand, Growling Tigers’ Wendell De Guzman and Jordan Sta. Ana rallied 19 points and 5 rebounds and 12 points and 2 rebounds, respectively.

While Blue Eagles’ Thirdy Ravena and Matt Nieto contributed 20 points and 8 rebounds and 19 points and 1 rebound for Ateneo.

Box Score:
Ravena-20, Matt Nieto-19, Mamuyac-8, Go-7, Mallilin-7, Michael Nieto-7, Tio-7, Asistio-6, Black-6, Verano-6, Ikeh-5, Tolentino-4, Andrade-0, Porter-0, White-0

De Guzman-19, Sta. Ana-12, Akomo-12, Basibas-11, Faundo-11, Garcia-8, Caunan-6, Lee-4, Romero-0, Kwawukumey-0, Escalambre-0, Lorenzana-0, Soriano-0, Macasaet-0

[supsystic-social-sharing id="2"]