Thu 23 May 2024

Adamson secures 11th straight UAAP softball championship

[supsystic-social-sharing id="1"]

Adamson University secured its 11th straight UAAP Softball championship with a come-from-behind 4-3, eighth-inning victory over University of the Philippines in the winner-take-all Game 3 of the Finals on Wednesday at the UP Baseball Field.

With no outs in the extra inning, the Lady Falcons capitalized on a play at home, scoring two runs to seal the championship after a throwing error from Fighting Maroons second baseman Algrace Adajar allowed Alaiza Pichon and Season MVP Angelu Gabriel to score.

“Ang ganda ng laro para sa sport dahil talagang magandang championship game. Masaya ako at swerte para sa amin na pabor sa amin ang kapalaran. At masaya ako doon,” said long-time Adamson head coach Ana Santiago as her squad clinched the title after dominating Game 2 with a 15-2 victory just last Saturday.

The UP Fighting Maroons, who won Game 1 in a similar extra-inning battle 3-2 just a week ago, took the lead in the fourth inning after two consecutive walks were issued to Jamm’n Joyce Rasco and Nickole Dela Cruz. KC Valino then hit a booming double to left-center, scoring her third baseman and designated player.

The reigning champions from San Marcelino refused to concede easily and leveled the score in the following inning.

“Sabi ko lang sa kanila, hindi pa tapos ang pitong innings, may laro pa kami,” Santiago told her players.

The response was immediate as Remelie Herrero started it off with a huge hit to center field. Two more hits to the left sent Herrero and MJ Libaton home, leveling the score at two.

The game then became a defensive battle, extending into extra innings.

Playing as the visiting team this time, the home side once again took the lead with former RP Blu Girl Danica Aquino crossing home on a sacrifice fly to center field.

It proved to be the decisive moment for the Fighting Maroons as the Lady Falcons staged a dynastic comeback for their 11th consecutive championship in the bottom of the eighth inning.

“Ang programa ng ASAPHIL para sa national team ay maganda, kaya makikita mo ang epekto nito sa Adamson. Kaya ini-encourage ko ang mga coach ng lahat ng UAAP schools na ipadala ang kanilang mga manlalaro kapag na-invite sa national team,” said Santiago, who also serves as the current Blu Girls mentor.

Best Pitcher and eventual Finals MVP April Minanga took over the mound for the now 11-peat champions in the fifth inning, limiting UP to a single run in the eighth and a solitary hit from Aquino.

Gabriel was adjudged the season MVP and also won the Best Hitter (.480) and Best Slugger (1.000 SA) awards.

Khrisha Cantor earned the Most Home Runs (2 HR) award, while Roma Jane Cruz contributed the Most Runs-Batted-In (9) to the Lady Falcons’ success this season.

University of Santo Tomas, which finished in third place, has Helga Campos to celebrate as the freshman earned Rookie of the Year honors along with the Most Stolen Bases (3 SBs) award.

[supsystic-social-sharing id="2"]