Tue 23 July 2024

AIA 7’s Kampeon Cup holds first tourney for women

[supsystic-social-sharing id="1"]

(Photo: Team Pampanga competing in the Kampeon Cup Women’s Tournament)


The 1st ever AIA 7’s Women’s Kampeon Cup will be premiering this Saturday, April 15 in Taguig City. The tournament will showcase six teams from different locations in the Philippines comprised of athletes who also played in the PFL, UFL, NCAA and UAAP.

Founded by former national player, Anton Del Rosario, this would be the third year of the Kampeon Cup but the first featuring women’s football. Most of the players were picked from their respective location’s local tournaments and they will be travelling to Manila to compete against the best from other areas. Team Cebu is composed of selected players from their leagues and will aim to have the same success as their men’s team, who won the first two Kampeon’s Cup championship. Team Muntinlupa is comprised of talents from the Laguna and Alabang area while Team Pampanga will feature the talents of Aeta players.

The six teams were divided into two brackets. They will play a single round format with the top two teams from each group advancing to the knock out stage to determine the Finals teams. Bracket A is composed of BGC, Muntinlupa and Pampanga while Bracket B includes Batangas, Cebu and Palawan.

The Kampeon Cup will be played at the Mckinley Hill Stadium in Taguig City and will be aired via TapGo app.

* * *

[supsystic-social-sharing id="2"]